PRESS RELEASE — Thursday, May 23, 2013
For Information Call Anne Peterson at 208-373-7368
           or Bob Evancho at 373-7369

IdahoPTV Garners 24 Idaho Press Club Awards

Idaho Public Television captured 24 Idaho Press Club Best of 2012 Awards at the IPC’s recent annual banquet in Boise.

The statewide public television system received seven first place awards and swept one category, taking first, second, third and honorable mention in Outdoor/Environment Report-TV.

The categories, awards, programs and individuals are:

Magazine Cover, Third Place, Channels Magazine October, Lisa Sommer, Jim Hadley, Jay Krajic.

Series — TV, Second Place, IDAHO REPORTS “Idaho’s Economic Front,” Greg Hahn, Seth Ogilvie, Ricardo Ochoa, Kara Veit, Bruce Reichert.

Public Affairs Program — TV-Studio, Second Place, IDAHO REPORTS, Greg Hahn, Seth Ogilvie, Ricardo Ochoa, Kara Veit, Bruce Reichert; Third Place, D4K “Galaxies,” Joan Cartan-Hansen, Al Hagenlock, Cassandra Groll.

Public Affairs Program — TV-Field, First Place, OUTDOOR IDAHO “Idaho’s Salmon,” Aaron Kunz, Bruce Reichert, Pat Metzler, Seth Ogilvie, Jay Krajic.

Documentary — TV, First Place, OUTDOOR IDAHO “Palisades by Season,” Kris Millgate, Bruce Reichert, John Crancer, Jay Krajic, Hank Nystrom; Second Place, OUTDOOR IDAHO “Idaho Geology, A Convergence of Wonders,” Bruce Reichert, Pat Metzler, Jay Krajic, Hank Nystrom, Jeff Tucker, John Crancer, Sauni Symonds, Marcia Franklin, Aaron Kunz, Joan Cartan-Hansen, Ricardo Ochoa, Tim Tower, Dave Butler, Chuck Cathcart.

Outdoor/Environment Report — TV, First Place, OUTDOOR IDAHO “Horse Packers and Wagon Masters,” John Crancer, Jay Krajic, Chuck Cathcart, Bruce Reichert; Second Place, OUTDOOR IDAHO “Climbing Idaho,” Sauni Symonds, Pat Metzler, Jay Krajic, Bruce Reichert; Third Place, “EarthFix: Coho Salmon,” Aaron Kunz; Honorable Mention, OUTDOOR IDAHO “Winter Grit,” Sauni Symonds, Jay Krajic, Jeff Tucker, Bruce Reichert.

Government/Political — TV, Second Place, IDAHO REPORTS “Wind Turbines,” Aaron Kunz; Seth Ogilvie, Greg Hahn; Third Place, IDAHO REPORTS “Redistricting,” Greg Hahn, Seth Ogilvie.

Television Writing— TV Program Length, Second Place, OUTDOOR IDAHO “The Foothills,” Joan Cartan-Hansen.

Videography — TV Program, First Place, OUTDOOR IDAHO “A Sawtooth Celebration,” Jay Krajic, Pat Metzler, Hank Nystrom, Chuck Cathcart; Third Place, OUTDOOR IDAHO “The Foothills,” Jay Krajic, Hank Nystrom, Pat Metzler.

Video Essay, Second Place, OUTDOOR IDAHO “Miles From Nowhere,” Sauni Symonds.

Best TV Graphics, Second Place, D4K “Composite,” Cassandra Groll.

Website-General Excellence — TV, First Place,, Rick Penticoff, Stephanie Dickey.

Website-Special Purpose — TV, First Place, D4K, Joan Cartan-Hansen, Kris Freeland, Peggy Hurd, John Britschgi, Rick Penticoff, Stephanie Dickey; Second Place,, Kris Freeland, Karen Byers, Stephanie Dickey, Ben Bibikov, Aubrey Ellis, Gens Johnson.

Best Use of Social Media, First Place, IDAHO REPORTS, Greg Hahn.

Best Online Only Program — General, Second Place, D4K “Web Only: Galaxies,” Joan Cartan-Hansen, Al Hagenlock, Cassandra Groll.

Best Online Only Program — Public Affairs, Second Place, DIALOGUE “Web Extra: Reporters’ Roundup,” Joan Cartan-Hansen, Ricardo Ochoa, Alison Sweet.

Best Blog, Third Place, D4K “Joan’s Blog,” Joan Cartan-Hansen.