This content is no longer being updated. As a result, you may encounter broken links or information that may not be up-to-date. For more information contact us.

The Cast

We wish to thank the following individuals for appearing in Assassination: Idaho's Trial of the Century.

Primary Cast

Gary AndersonClarence Darrow, Defense attorney
Matthew Cameron Clark *Harry Orchard, Repentent assassin
R. Douglas CopseyEdmund Richardson, Defense attorney
Keith CouchFremont Wood, Presiding judge
Marcia FranklinIda Crouch Hazlett, Socialist reporter
Joe Conley Golden *James McParland, Pinkerton detective
Arthur Glen Hughes"Big Bill" Haywood, Labor leader on trial
Richard Klautsch *William Borah, Prosecutor
Stitch MarkerNarrator of the program
Dan Alan Peterson *James Hawley, Prosecutor
Gordon ReinhartOscar King Davis, reporter, New York Times

Expert Commentary

Katherine Aiken - Historian, author of Idaho's Bunker Hill: The Rise and Fall of a Great Mining Company, 1885-1925
David Grover - Historian, author of Debaters and Dynamiters: The Story of the Haywood Trial
Byron Johnson - Retired Idaho Supreme Court Justice and former defense attorney
John Richards, Jr. - Great-grandson of former governor Frank Steunenberg

Additional Cast Members

M.A. Taylor *Stenographer
Dick AllenStenographer
Victoria GrahamWife of William Haywood
Vern BisterfeldtDeputy
Mike ScialesBailiff
Richard DeesTelegrapher
Lynn AllenHaywood's Mother
Heidi JensenHaywood's Daughter
Rebecca WendtHaywood's Daughter
John ObenchainOrchard as older man
Bud YostOrchard as dynamiter
Bruce ReichertGovernor Steunenberg

The Jury

Randy Barrett
Jan Boles
George Dilley
Gerry Fields
Charles Gill
Kay Johnson
Al Kiler

The Press

Gregory Hahn - Idaho Statesman
Jill Kuraitis -
Betsy Russell - Spokesman-Review
Karen Wagoner - Western Canyon Chronicle
Anna Webb - Idaho Statesman

Audience Members

Toni Barrett
Bob Bears
Susie Boring-Headlee
Norma Campbell
Jody Clark
Chris Clawson
Pat Cosgrove
Sandy Cosgrove
Ron Crane
Brian Cronin
Bill Crookham
Adelaide Crowne
Lori Durbin
Anne Edwards
Mike Emery
Jared Fairchild
Mia Fereday
Russ Fereday
Ron Fortner
Dan Gearring
Vickey Gearring
Cheryl Griebenow
Marshall Grooms
John Hetinger
David High
Marshall High
Fairy Hitchcock
Kay Hummel
Hans Jensen
Amy Johnson
Byron Johnson
Maeryn Johnston
Joe Kafka
Josephine Kiler
Jay Krajic
Colleen Leone
Danny Lowber
Mike Lynott
Georgia Marshall
Gerry Mattison
Sue Mattison
Pam Minshew
William Morris
John Murphy
Norm Nelson
Dan Peterson
Lynn Ratzlaff
George Rogers
Irene Rosey
Bob Secrist
Judy Secrist
Sylvia Sosoka
Greg Spohn
Floyd Steward
Kathleen Stuppy
Georgie Walker
Zach Wendt
Leonard Williams
Dr. Gordy Williamson
Suzanne Witschen
Bud Yost
Barzy Young
Joe Zimmer
* Member of Actors' Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers in the United States.