Schedule banner

Mechanical Universe And Beyond, The

This series helps teachers demystify physics by showing students what it looks like. Field trips to hot-air balloon events, symphony concerts, bicycle shops, and other locales make complex concepts more accessible. Inventive computer graphics illustrate abstract concepts such as time, force, and capacitance, while historical reenactments of the studies of Newton, Leibniz, Maxwell, and others trace the evolution of theories. The Mechanical Universe helps meet different students' needs, from the basic requirements of liberal arts students to the rigorous demands of science and engineering majors. This series is also valuable for teacher professional development.

Visit the Mechanical Universe And Beyond, The website

Episode Description
Thursday, Sep 21, 2017 - 4:00 AM    "Millikan Experiment" A dramatic recreation of Millikan's classic oil-drop experiment to determine the charge of a single electron.. D
Show Is Closed Captioned

Mountain Time

View Pacific


More Mechanical Universe And Beyond, The on IDAHO (MT)
Thursday, Sep 21, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Millikan Experiment" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Friday, Sep 22, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Conservation of Energy" (IDAHO)

Monday, Sep 25, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Potential Energy" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Conservation of Momentum" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Wednesday, Sep 27, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Harmonic Motion" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Thursday, Sep 28, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Resonance" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Friday, Sep 29, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Waves" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Monday, Oct 2, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Angular Momentum" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Tuesday, Oct 3, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Torques and Gyroscopes" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Wednesday, Oct 4, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Kepler's Three Laws" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Idaho PTV Homepage Idaho PTV Homepage