Schedule banner

Biography of America, A

A Biography of America presents history not simply as a series of irrefutable facts to be memorized, but as a living narrative. Prominent historians -- Donald L. Miller, Pauline Maier, Louis P. Masur, Waldo E. Martin, Jr., Douglas Brinkley, and Virginia Scharff -- present America's story as something that is best understood from a variety of perspectives. Thought-provoking debates and lectures encourage critical analysis of the forces that have shaped America. First-person narratives, photos, film footage, and documents reveal the human side of American history -- how historical figures affected events, and the impact of these events on citizens' lives.

Visit the Biography of America, A website

Episode Description
Thursday, Dec 7, 2017 - 4:00 AM    "New City" Professor Miller explores the tension between the messy vitality of cities that grow on their own and those where orderly growth is planned. Chicago -- with Hull House, the World's Columbian Exposition, the new female workforce, the skyscraper, the department store, and unfettered capitalism -- is the place to watch a new world in the making at the turn of the century.. D
Show Is Closed Captioned

Mountain Time

View Pacific


More Biography of America, A on IDAHO (MT)
Thursday, Dec 7, 2017 - 4:00 AM "New City" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Friday, Dec 8, 2017 - 4:00 AM "West" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Monday, Dec 11, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Capital and Labor" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Tuesday, Dec 12, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Tr and Wilson" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Vital Progressivism" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Thursday, Dec 14, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Twenties" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Friday, Dec 15, 2017 - 4:00 AM "FDR and the Depression" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Monday, Dec 18, 2017 - 4:00 AM "World War II" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Tuesday, Dec 19, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Fifties" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Wednesday, Dec 20, 2017 - 4:00 AM "Sixties" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Previous Biography of America, A on IDAHO (MT)
Thursday, Dec 7, 2017 - 4:00 AM  "New City"
Show Is Closed Captioned
Wednesday, Dec 6, 2017 - 4:00 AM  "Industrial Supremacy"
Show Is Closed Captioned
Tuesday, Dec 5, 2017 - 4:00 AM  "America at Its Centennial"
Show Is Closed Captioned
Monday, Dec 4, 2017 - 4:00 AM  "Reconstruction"
Show Is Closed Captioned
Friday, Dec 1, 2017 - 4:00 AM  "Civil War"
Show Is Closed Captioned
Thursday, Nov 30, 2017 - 4:00 AM  "Coming of the Civil War"
Show Is Closed Captioned
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2017 - 4:00 AM  "Slavery"
Show Is Closed Captioned
Tuesday, Nov 28, 2017 - 4:00 AM  "Reform Impulse"
Show Is Closed Captioned
Monday, Nov 27, 2017 - 4:00 AM  "Rise of Capitalism"
Show Is Closed Captioned
Friday, Nov 24, 2017 - 4:00 AM  "Westward Expansion"
Show Is Closed Captioned
Idaho PTV Homepage Idaho PTV Homepage