Schedule banner

Taste of History

A TASTE OF HISTORY is a TV cooking series that explores America's culinary beginnings from the Birthplace of American Cuisine. This innovative series brings America's history to life and makes it vibrant as we step back in time and get to know the founders of our country through the food they ate and the recipes they prepared. Chef Walter Staib, an award-winning internationally known chef with over four decades of experience, is a master of open hearth cookery. He demonstrates a true mastery in the preparation of sophisticated 18th Century cuisine, sure to inspire home-cooks. A TASTE OF HISTORY is . . .

Visit the Taste of History website

Episode Description
Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 - 9:00 AM    "Cajun Cuisine of the Acadians" Chef Walter Staib cooks in the Louisiana bayou for a taste of history that captures the Cajun culture! Discover how French farmers were lured to wilderness of the American South and established one of the most unique cuisines in America. Louisiana native Chef John Folse joins Staib to prepare authentic Cajun recipes such as Rabbit & Squirrel Jambalaya and Turtle Sauce Piquante". D
Show is TVG

More Taste of History on PLUS (MT)
Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 - 9:00 AM "Cajun Cuisine of the Acadians" (PLUS)
Show is TVG
Thursday, Aug 24, 2017 - 9:00 AM "Yorktown - The Last Battle" (PLUS)
Show is TVG
Thursday, Aug 31, 2017 - 9:00 AM "The Mummers: Pistols, Parasols & Parades" (PLUS)
Show is TVG
Thursday, Sep 7, 2017 - 9:00 AM "Coffee Past, Present & Future" (PLUS)
Show is TVG
Thursday, Sep 14, 2017 - 9:00 AM "The Queen of the Caribbean" (PLUS)
Show is TVG
Thursday, Sep 21, 2017 - 9:00 AM "Washington's Character, Charisma & Ambition" (PLUS)
Show is TVG
Thursday, Sep 28, 2017 - 9:00 AM "George Washington's Whiskey" (PLUS)
Show is TVG
Thursday, Oct 5, 2017 - 9:00 AM "Peace and Autonomy" (PLUS)
Show is TVG
Thursday, Oct 12, 2017 - 9:00 AM "German Born, American Made" (PLUS)
Show is TVG
Thursday, Oct 19, 2017 - 9:00 AM "Creole Cuisine and the War of 1812" (PLUS)
Show is TVG
Previous Taste of History on PLUS (MT)
Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 - 9:00 AM  "Cajun Cuisine of the Acadians"
Show is TVG
Thursday, Aug 10, 2017 - 9:00 AM  "Alexander Hamilton The Financier"
Show is TVG
Thursday, Aug 3, 2017 - 9:00 AM  "Bonaparte In St. Lucia"
Show is TVG
Thursday, Jul 27, 2017 - 9:00 AM  "300 Years of Service"
Show is TVG
Thursday, Jul 20, 2017 - 9:00 AM  "Creole Cuisine and the War of 1812"
Show is TVG
Thursday, Jul 13, 2017 - 9:00 AM  "German Born, American Made"
Show is TVG
Thursday, Jul 6, 2017 - 9:00 AM  "Peace and Autonomy"
Show is TVG
Thursday, Jun 29, 2017 - 9:00 AM  "George Washington's Whiskey"
Show is TVG
Thursday, Jun 22, 2017 - 9:00 AM  "From Bordeaux to Jefferson's Cellars"
Show is TVG
Thursday, Jun 15, 2017 - 9:00 AM  "Pittsburgh: from Frontier to Fortune"
Show is TVG
Idaho PTV Homepage Idaho PTV Homepage