Schedule banner

Democracy In America

Democracy in America, a video course for high school civics teachers covers topics of civic knowledge, skills, and dispositions recommended by The Civics Framework for the National Assessment of Educational Progress developed by the U.S. Department of Education. The 15 half-hour video programs, hosted by national television correspondent Ren

Visit the Democracy In America website

Episode Description
Monday, Apr 15, 2013 - 3:30 AM    "Courts: Our Rule of Law" This program examines the role of courts as institutions dedicated to conflict resolution, with the power both to apply and to interpret the meaning of law in trial and appeal courts. It shows the increased power of the Supreme Court through its use of judicial review and the difficulty of creating a judiciary that is independent of politics.. D

Pacific Time

View Mountain


More Democracy In America on IDAHO (PT)
Monday, Apr 15, 2013 - 3:30 AM "Courts: Our Rule of Law" (IDAHO)

Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 - 3:30 AM "Media: Inside Story" (IDAHO)

Wednesday, Apr 17, 2013 - 3:30 AM "Public Opinion: Voice of the People" (IDAHO)

Thursday, Apr 18, 2013 - 3:30 AM "Political Parties: Mobilizing Agents" (IDAHO)

Friday, Apr 19, 2013 - 3:30 AM "Elections: The Maintenance of Democracy" (IDAHO)

Monday, Apr 22, 2013 - 3:30 AM "Interest Groups: Organizing to Influence" (IDAHO)

Tuesday, Apr 23, 2013 - 3:30 AM "Global Politics: U.S.A. and the World" (IDAHO)

Thursday, Jul 11, 2013 - 3:30 AM "Citizenship: Making Government Work" (IDAHO)

Friday, Jul 12, 2013 - 3:30 AM "Constitution: Fixed Or Flexible?" (IDAHO)

Monday, Jul 15, 2013 - 3:30 AM "Federalism: U.S. V. The States" (IDAHO)

Idaho PTV Homepage Idaho PTV Homepage