Schedule banner

Mechanical Universe And Beyond, The

This series helps teachers demystify physics by showing students what it looks like. Field trips to hot-air balloon events, symphony concerts, bicycle shops, and other locales make complex concepts more accessible. Inventive computer graphics illustrate abstract concepts such as time, force, and capacitance, while historical reenactments of the studies of Newton, Leibniz, Maxwell, and others trace the evolution of theories. The Mechanical Universe helps meet different students' needs, from the basic requirements of liberal arts students to the rigorous demands of science and engineering majors. This series is also valuable for teacher professional development.

Visit the Mechanical Universe And Beyond, The website

Episode Description
Tuesday, Aug 7, 2012 - 4:00 AM
"Beyond The Mechanical Universe"
The world of electricity and magnetism, and 20th-century discoveries of relativity and quantum mechanics.. D
Show Is Closed Captioned

Mountain Time

View Pacific


More Mechanical Universe And Beyond, The on IDAHO (MT)
Tuesday, Aug 7, 2012 - 4:00 AM "Beyond The Mechanical Universe" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Wednesday, Aug 8, 2012 - 4:00 AM "Static Electricity" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Thursday, Aug 9, 2012 - 4:00 AM "Electric Field" (IDAHO)

Friday, Aug 10, 2012 - 4:00 AM "Potential and Capacitance" (IDAHO)

Monday, Aug 13, 2012 - 4:00 AM "Voltage, Energy, and Force" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Tuesday, Aug 14, 2012 - 4:00 AM "Electric Battery" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Wednesday, Aug 15, 2012 - 4:00 AM "Electric Circuits" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Thursday, Aug 16, 2012 - 4:00 AM "Magnetism" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Friday, Aug 17, 2012 - 4:00 AM "Magnetic Field" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Monday, Aug 20, 2012 - 4:00 AM "Vector Fields and Hydrodynamics" (IDAHO)
Show Is Closed Captioned
Idaho PTV Homepage Idaho PTV Homepage